Blair Monroe: Blessing Day

Our main reason for going to Utah was to have Blair blessed surrounded by the people who love her. In the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints we do not baptize babies as we do not believe they are subjected to that transgression. Here is the excerpt from True to the Faith:

Because of the Fall of Adam and Eve, all people live in a fallen condition, separated from God and subject to physical death. However, we are not condemned by what many call the “original sin.” In other words, we are not accountable for Adam’s transgression in the Garden of Eden. The Prophet Joseph Smith said, “We believe that men will be punished for their own sins, and not for Adam’s transgression” (Articles of Faith 1:2).

Through the Atonement, the Savior paid the price for the transgression in the Garden of Eden (see Moses 6:53). He has given us the assurance of resurrection and the promise that, based on our faithfulness, we can return to dwell in the presence of our Heavenly Father forever.

Kids are baptized at the age of 8, when we believe they have to ability to decipher right from wrong.

Now to the actual day! We had just arrived in Utah the day before, so everything was a little hectic. We went to Sacrament meeting at church and then went home to let Blair take a nap and to get ready for all of our guests. That day was also the first time I have seen my best friend in over two years because I was in New Hampshire when she returned home from her mission! (And now she is engaged!! EEK!) Both of our families were there, we even had grandparents travel from Arizona and California to come see our little girl blessed. The feeling was so surreal witnessing my husband and other loved ones surround our daughter with love, hold her, and bless her with the power of God. The blessing was so beautiful, I honestly don’t remember a lot that was said but I will never forget the way I felt. Brings tears to my eyes just remembering it.

Blair was held by probably 40 different people that night and I was amazed by how well she handled it. She went down for a much deserved nap soon after the blessing.

Garren and I had a great time catching up with our friends and family and are so grateful to every one who came. I am also so grateful to my in-laws for helping it all come together flawlessly! There were a ton of other pictures but I cleverly forgot our camera in Vegas at my sisters. Hopefully it’s on it’s way here!

20140706_073326_1

She wore my blessing dress :)

20140706_073243 20140706_072538 20140629_055209 20140629_055139 20140629_054859_1 20140629_054859 (1) 20140706_073320 10509601_10152181652827477_1164422248860611148_nIMG_4292For some reason we didn’t get pictures of Garren with her on our camera. I think Deniece got them? Any way if any one has copies of those pictures I would LOVE if you emailed them to me :)

 

2 thoughts on “Blair Monroe: Blessing Day

  1. Pingback: Utah Vacation | Family RED

  2. Pingback: Flying Tips: When Your Baby Doesn’t Take a Pacifier or Bottle | Family RED

Leave a Reply

