Baby Red: 39 Weeks

Ok this is a horrible picture but it's the only one I have for week 39! It's kind of hard to see the bump... but it's huge don't worry about it.

Ok this is a horrible picture but it’s the only one I have for week 39! It’s kind of hard to see the bump… but it’s huge don’t worry about it.

Thoughts: Are we there yet? Baby Girl and I are officially full term! She could still wait another 2 weeks to come but I am sincerely hoping she comes later this week. I have had a date in my head since the beginning of this pregnancy and considering I knew we would conceive in May, I figure why shouldn’t I be right about this date as well! Chalking it up to intuition for now ;) It’s still hard to believe this pregnancy will end and parenting will begin! I can’t wait for this journey and I am so grateful to have Garren by my side for what is sure to be the hardest and best part of our life together.

Dr Appointment/Baby: At my doctor’s appointment last week my doctor was feeling around the bump and asked me how much I weighed at birth (6lbs 8oz) and then how much Garren weighed (over 9 lbs) and proceeded to say, “She will be closer to Daddy’s size.” We got a good laugh from that! While you can’t put too much stock into estimations I am hoping her bigger size now will mean she is ready to come sooner. Yes it’s wishful thinking but whatever! My baby app says she is about 20 inches long and 7 lbs 4 oz. Basically she is just getting cute and chubby right now :)

Weight/Cravings/Aversions/Eating: This week at my appointment my weight leveled off. I weighed the exact same as last week so still at a weight gain of 18 pounds. Nothing new on the eating front. No real aversions and still downing way more milk than should be allowed.

Movement: I can tell she is feeling a little squished, but she still moves around quite a bit. It’s very uncomfortable now but still very much welcomed. I am excited for this little wiggle worm to move in my arms instead of my belly! I do think it will be weird not falling asleep to her movements. I have gotten use to that nightly ritual over the last 20 weeks.

Sleep/Workouts: Sleep is basically the same, I feel like two people each grabbed a leg and tried to walk in opposite directions. I wake up each morning feeling like I had the most intense workout of my life the day before. Nope, just walked to the bathroom 45 times! I don’t remember what it feels like to sleep longer than 1-2 hours before needing to go to the bathroom, or what it feels like to wake up and not have everything hurt.

Signs of Labor: Sunday night I had some pretty intense contractions for SEVEN hours that were 2-4 minutes apart. Naturally at 5 in the morning they just completely stopped. I was really starting to get excited, but hopefully they at least helped me progress! Up until then I never had a painful contraction, but these were bad enough that I couldn’t get comfortable and had to move and breathe through them. Active labor will obviously be much worse but I am glad I got a tiny taste of what I am in for.

Garren: I think every pregnant woman needs a Garren. He is always willing to make me something to eat, rub my back, and do a load of laundry on top of being in Physical Therapy school. I feel so blessed and loved to be married to this man. Being pregnant has been very rough on so many aspects of my life but it has only affected our marriage in a very positive way. I did have to tell him to stop asking me if “It’s time”. It was maybe driving me a little crazy….. ;)

Really hoping I don’t have to do another one of these updates, and that Baby Red is in my arms this time next week ;) Wish me luck!

One thought on “Baby Red: 39 Weeks

Leave a Reply

