Baby Red: 33 and 34 weeks

33 34

Thoughts: The last two weeks have been the most trying of my pregnancy. She has moved down and is already engaged so I basically have to waddle every where. My hip and back pain is killing me so sleeping has gotten worse. When things get rough and I can feel myself getting discouraged I simply remind myself how blessed I am. I have this beautiful, perfect life growing inside me. So many women don’t get that opportunity. I would do this for 40 more weeks to be this little girls mom. I am just glad I only have 6 left ;) A lot of my friends have been popping out their babies over the last month and it’s making me so excited to hold baby red.

Dr. Appointments: My appointment was on Thursday as usual. Unfortunately that was also my birthday. I received my Tdap vaccination. Pertussis is a scary disease and I was more than willing to get a shot (even on my birthday) to protect baby red. The nurse who gave me the shot did an amazing job. She asked me if I was doing alright and I didn’t even realize she had started giving me the shot. My arm was sore for a few days but nothing worth complaining about. WARNING TMI COMING UP I have been having a lot of pressure and losing some of my mucus plug so they decided to check my cervix for dilation. They said her head is already engaged and very low. Thankfully I am not dilated at all yet. I almost threw up when she checked though, not the most comfortable experience of my life. I ended up having to go back to the doctor yesterday because I have been having extreme itching (it started with my hands and feet and has progressed to entire body) as well as some other symptoms. They think it could be cholestasis. I had my blood drawn and wont find out until Thursday. I made the mistake of looking it up online and stopped reading after “increase risk of still birth”. Thankfully once you know you have it they monitor you closely and induce you at 37 weeks so that doesn’t happen. I know I have never wanted an induction, but I will take a healthy baby above all other things so however she needs to come is fine by me. Hopefully I don’t have it at all!

Baby: At 34 weeks Baby Red is about 17 3/4 inches long and weighs around 4 pounds and 12 ounces. The vernix (waxy protective coating) on her skin is becoming thicker and her lungs are continuing to mature for the outside world. At this point she has nearly the same chances of survival as she will being full term. However she would still need help on the outside so I have kindly reminded her to remain in her current home for a few more weeks.

Weight: Christmas definitely caught up with me. I ate way to much over the last couple of weeks! I gained 3.5 pounds since my last appointment. Making my total weight gain for pregnancy 10.5 lbs so far.

Symptoms: My pelvic and back pain is at an all time high. I cannot stand on one leg with out excruciating pain and getting out of bed is very difficult. Basically I feel like a bowling ball is trying to come out of me. My morning sickness isn’t too bad, but for some reason I keep throwing up water. I can drink nearly every thing else and be fine but if I drink more than a few sips of water I can’t hold it down. I have been getting a lot more braxton hicks contractions, especially when walking around. The itching…. it’s insane.

Movement: No changes here! She is still very active and moving around like crazy. She has started head butting me and it’s not the greatest feeling. I love watching her dance around my belly. She is definitely in control of my stomach!

Cravings/Aversions/Eating: Guess…… yep Milk. Also Mexican food. Out here in New England we have amazing pizza, seafood and even greek food. Mexican food? No cigar. We can’t even find decent tortillas at the store. I miss it desperately.

Sleep: Trying to sleep usually results in quite a lot of tossing, turning, and tears. I get up so much to go to the bathroom and my back and hip pain is becoming unbearable. I have to chuckle because people keep saying, “Get your sleep now while you can!” I have to assume they either A. Have never been 8 months pregnant before or B. Don’t remember what it’s like. I haven’t received more than an hours worth of consecutive sleep in months. At least when Blair is here I will have some cute company while I am awake!

Workouts: This week I blow dried my hair three times. Yes I realize this isn’t an actual work out, however my hair is incredibly long and I felt like passing out each time so I am counting it. Still the yoga and the stretching. My balance is starting to suffer so I am sure I look ridiculous!

Random: I am starting to drink Red Raspberry Leaf tea this week. They say it helps strengthen your uterus and makes labor a little bit easier. People swear by it. I am a big herbal tea drinker so I figure if it doesn’t work it’s not a big deal either. I feel like this post was short and mainly negative so I apologize! Honestly I may not love a lot of things about pregnancy but none of that matters. I love Blair more than anything already and I love knowing I have the ability to give her life. I am basically living in pajamas. My favorite moment from the last two weeks though happened the other night around 4:00 am. I had just gotten back into bed from going to the bathroom for the 12th time and my hips were killing me. Basically I was laying on my back crying and having a little pity party with my hand on my stomach. All of the sudden Blair popped out right under my hand. It surprised me and I moved my hand to a different area on my stomach and she moved to where my hand was. We did this for about 5 minutes. It was just a beautiful reminder of why all the aches and pains and lack of sleep are more than worth it. I lover her so much already.

One thought on “Baby Red: 33 and 34 weeks

  1. Pregnancy can definitely be rough, but like you say, worth it. I remember sleeping so terribly the last few weeks/months. The first few days after Will was born, I slept SOO good. I was waking up constantly having to feed a baby, but when I was sleeping, I wasn’t tossing and turning and uncomfortable. Hang in there..the last 2-3 weeks were by far the absolute worst for me. You look beautiful and have a great attitude! Hope everything goes well! Love hearing updates.

    Like

Leave a Reply

