Baby Red: 31 and 32 Weeks

31

31 Weeks (Yes I have an angel growing out of my head)

32 Weeks!

32 Weeks!

Thoughts: Last week marks one year since our miscarriage. In some ways it feels like a life time ago. I was a different person then. I am a better, stronger person now. In other ways it seems like yesterday. Christmas was really hard for me last year and I can already tell you this year is a complete 180. Feeling our little girl move and watching Garren light up with excitement talking about her fills me with more joy than I could have ever imagined possible. The woman I was last December needed to go through that experience. It has made me not only more empathetic, but much more grateful for this pregnancy. Honestly if I had never lived through how quickly it can be taken from you I would be a complete whiner through this pregnancy. It’s hard. It takes it’s toll on your body, your sleep, your emotions, but it’s more than worth it. I needed to learn that.

Dr. Appointments: Last Thursday I met with my doctor and was basically told I am a perfect patient ;) My blood pressure is perfect, no protein or glucose in my urine, I haven’t had swelling, spotting, or actual contractions. My little girl is perfectly content inside me. She is head down and her heart rate is perfect! Next appointment is on my birthday, and I will be getting the tdap shot. HAPPY BIRTHDAY to me! My appointment on January 9th is when we will go over my birth plan in depth. Doesn’t that give you butterflies? Just me? Ok.

Baby: At 32 weeks baby red weighs around 3 pounds 12 oz and is about 16 1/2 inches long. She now has toenails and fingernails, hair, and her skin is becoming soft and smooth as she plumps up. (We already know she has hair since the ultrasound tech showed us it at our 3d ultrasound at 27 weeks!)

Weight: I am back to a 7 lb total gain. My morning sickness has come back so that probably accounts for the weight loss (only 2 lbs), but my doctor wasn’t worried about it. She said baby is still growing and it’s normal for sickness and weight loss to occur this far into pregnancy.

Symptoms: Like I said above my morning sickness has come back. It’s no where near as bad as the first trimester and my doctor said that since I have a short torso and baby is getting so much bigger my sickness is most likely due to there being very little room in there. I am trying to eat lot of little meals through out the day. It does help. I ordered a maternity belt and it has helped my back pain and lower abdominal pain a lot. It’s not cured but walking around isn’t such a chore any more.

Movement: She is so active. I feel her constantly through out the day. Honestly it’s starting to hurt a lot when she moves. It’s really hard to explain. It’s weird because I can feel her moving at my hips and ribs. Girlfriend is starting to out grow her current home. Some times I politely tell her she is hurting me but then I feel bad and tell her if she is squished and needs to move in that way by all means do it. Yes I realize I sound like crazy person. Over it.

Cravings/Aversions/Eating: One word: Milk. I know it’s all I ever write about but I love it. I dream about it, I cry (literally) when we run out. Yesterday Garren came home from school and usually I am pretty dang excited to see him. He could tell I was in a bad mood and I hadn’t noticed. He asked me what was wrong and I told him we were out of milk. He understood immediately. Don’t worry we are well stocked again! We have also been juicing and I can feel my energy picking up from all those fresh fruits and veggies. I don’t have any other constant cravings but randomly (usually late at night) I will declare that I NEED lasagna or tacos or some other random food that we don’t have. So that’s fun.

Sleep: Nope. Don’t understand the topic. I get up every hour to pee and my restless legs are OUT OF CONTROL. Also my husband has taken up snoring as his new hobby. I am grateful he doesn’t remember me yelling at him and possibly smothering him (I promise not to inflict actual harm) in the morning. He is such a deep sleeper. I try really hard to not feel too envious of him. Lately I haven’t been falling asleep till around 3:00 in the morning and will wake up around 10 or 11…. but then since it’s so cold out side of my bed I lay there reading a book or playing on my phone til noon. (Blair is usually kicking up a storm at this point as well) I actually love this part of my day and know that never in my life will I have this opportunity again so I am just going to go with it. Call me lazy! :)

Workouts: Am I allowed to count rolling to my other side in bed or getting off the couch as workouts? If so I am doing fantastic! But really just the usual yoga and lower back/pelvic floor exercises. I see women who are still running or going to the gym at this point in their pregnancy and just wonder where they got their super powers from.

Random: I have started packing my hospital bag and the bag for the baby. I realize I still have 8ish weeks but I like being prepared, and I have nothing else to do! I have a list of things (compiled from many internet sources) to still get. If you have any MUST PACK ideas for me I would love to hear them. We live in New England and she will be born in the middle of winter I really don’t want Garren to have to go home and grab something because I forgot it. Saturday the 7th was my baby shower and the 14th was my breast feeding class. The class was well worth it! The lady who taught it was so sweet and there was only one other mom to be in the group. She answered all of our questions and put a lot of my worries and fears to rest. I am so glad Garren went! He said he didn’t realize what a huge deal breast feeding is and how much love and support I will need. Now we are completely on the same page. It has made me about ten times more excited for Baby Red to make her appearance!

I have been dying to take some maternity photos in the snow.... First we needed snow! We got about a foot this weekend!

I have been dying to take some maternity photos in the snow…. First we needed snow! We got about a foot this weekend!

I adore this baby girl. 8 more weeks!

I adore this baby girl. 8 more weeks!

Leave a Reply

