Baby Red: 29 and 30 Weeks

29weeks 30weeks

Thoughts: Well I am 3/4ths of the way through this pregnancy. 30 weeks sounds substantial don’t you think? Now that I got to the doctor every two weeks (CRAZY) I figure I will try and blog every two weeks as well. Sometimes it’s hard to figure out what to say though so we shall play it by ear. I feel like December is going to FLY by but January will drag on forever. I am trying to be patient because this little girl needs time to grow still!

Dr. Appointments: Honestly I feel like nothing happens at these things. They check my urine for protein and glucose (negative), my weight, my blood pressure (always around 105/70), take my fundal height, and check baby girls heart beat. My fundal height (basically measuring the size of your uterus) is always exactly where it should be, although I have read this is a less than accurate way to measure how baby is growing. I am grateful to have a wonderful doctor office to go to and I am sure going every two weeks will make time fly, it just gets a little old! We scheduled all of our appointments til February 13th (which I hopefully wont make because baby girl will be here!) It’s all feeling a lot more real.

Baby: At 30 weeks baby is almost 16 inches long and weighs about 3 pounds. That seems so big to me! Although she will still more than double her weight before coming home with us. Her eye sight is continuing to develop but even when she is born her vision will only be at about 20/400, meaning she will only be able to see objects a few inches in front of her face. Her head is also getting bigger as her brain develops.

Weight: Well since my last appointment 2 weeks ago, I have gained 2 pounds. Looks like I am gaining a pound a week at this point which is right on track. My total weight gain is now at 9lbs.

Symptoms: My lower back pain is the worst it has ever been. Some times at night when I get out of bed it hurts so bad I can stand right because putting pressure on my legs makes my back feel like it will snap in half. I ordered a maternity belt that should be here tomorrow and I am hoping this helps alleviate the pain. I have been getting Braxton Hicks contractions lately but most of the time they don’t bother me. She also seems to have moved up a little bit. I am feeling her kick around my ribs. Sunday she was positioned in a way that she was pressing against my diaphragm and it was hard to fully catch my breath. I am glad she seems to have moved because that was awful.

Movement: Baby girl can pack quite the punch these days. There are some movements that actually hurt! I love how strong she is getting. She also seems to react to mine and Garren’s voice. She will start moving like crazy the second we start talking to her. She usually wakes me up in the morning by rolling from side to side. Unless you have been pregnant before it’s impossible to fully explain how it feels to feel your child move inside you. I have been feeling her move now for 12 weeks and I am still amazed by it each and every time. I am to the point where I do a kick count twice a day. Basically I need to feel 10 movements in the space of an hour. It usually takes about 10 minutes to get the 10 movements though. She is super active.

Cravings/Aversions/Eating: I no longer throw up when eating chocolate! Which may also explain me now gaining weight…. :P The temptation of drinking a cold glass of milk can literally get me out of bed in the morning. I wish you all understood how weird that is for me. Milk use to always go bad in our house because I just don’t drink it. Now we go through a gallon and a half a week. I haven’t had any new cravings or aversions. Basically I am just trying to not overeat all the delicious holidays treats we have been getting (and making).

Sleep: What’s that? Seriously. I wake up every hour and a half to pee, toss and turn to try and get comfortable and then when I do she starts kicking away. I am basically over it though. I just stay in bed longer to make up for it. If it wasn’t for my body pillow I wouldn’t sleep at all! Something I find super odd though is the fact that I have NEVER in my life been able to sleep on my back (I have always been a stomach sleeper) and lately I keep waking up on my back which is a huge no-no during pregnancy. Every thing I have read says if you wake up on your back and change position you are fine, it’s just weird to me.

Workouts: Down to only yoga, but I have realized yoga is vital to keeping my back pain manageable. I use the yoga ball a lot as well. Going up the stairs at our apartment is currently a huge chore. By the time I get up them I am huffing and puffing like I just ran a few miles. I have a feeling getting back into shape post baby is going to be a very big task.

Random: I have the world’s deepest belly button so it is definitely still an “innie” but its crazy how shallow it is now! This Saturday my friends are throwing me a baby shower and next Saturday we have a breast feeding class! I am so excited! We seriously have so much to look forward too :)

I am pleased to say I can still see my feet.... I am not sure that will last much longer!

I am pleased to say I can still see my feet…. I am not sure that will last much longer!

Leave a Reply

