Baby Red: 17 and 18 Weeks

PhotoGrid_1378667903949

Thoughts: It’s funny because when I first got the positive pregnancy test, I would day dream about making it to 18 weeks. For some reason 18 just sounds significant. Plus I am a mere two weeks from being half way to meeting our precious baby! The very thought gives me goosebumps and butterflies all at once :) I was incredibly nervous during the beginning of week 17. It was right before my first appointment out here and I still get a bit of anxiety prior to those visits.

Dr. Appointments: I had an appointment on Wednesday September 4th. I met with the nurse practitioner. My blood pressure was perfect, like always. She was amazing. She sat there and listened to all my questions and concerns. I never once felt rushed. Then she taught me how to find which side of my uterus my baby is on. This was the first time they have been able to find the heart beat with the Doppler because of my tilted uterus. Luckily it has completely rectified it’s self. The baby was sleeping with a heart rate of 138 bpm.  Since I just transferred my care to this new clinic they want to play “catch up” on my doctor visits. Today I had an appointment with my actual doctor (she was referred to me by a woman in my church). I love how energetic she is. I got to hear the baby’s heart beat again. So crazy how much baby moves around. He/she was much lower this time. 

Baby: Baby Red is now almost 6 inches long and weighs almost 7 oz. I love reading each week how much our little baby is growing. His/her bones are hardening, and some of the first bones to develop are the ones in the inner ear. Baby can officially hear things like my heart beating. Sounds poetic doesn’t it?

Weight: I had gained about 5 pounds, of the 14 I lost back but today I found out I lost 2 pounds since my appointment last week. I honestly don’t even know how I lost weight because I am fairly certain I eat everything in sight.

Symptoms: While my morning sickness is no where near “back” if I eat too much sugar I get really sick. I guess that is a perfect reason to continue to eat healthy! I have been getting a lot more migraines recently and also some back pain. The worst symptom by far is the frequent urination. Some nights I can get up to use the restroom as many as 15 times. It’s insane! I would try and limit my liquid intake, but if I am thirsty I know it’s important to drink. I suppose this is getting me ready for waking up to feed Baby Red when he/she comes.

Movement: I have officially felt the baby move! It’s still very light and sometimes it’s hard to distinguish what I am actually feeling. Garren wont be able to feel the movements until they are stronger but the doctor said that should be with in the next few weeks! I love that simple reminder that our baby is healthy and strong. Last night the movements were much stronger!

Cravings/Aversion/Eating: I am still craving chic-fil-a sandwiches. My wonderful husband took me on a date 40 minutes away just to get chic-fil-a. Then he took it a step farther and looked up a copycat recipe and has since made it for me twice. Honestly it’s a VERY close match and is completely delicious. I am still downing more milk a week than I did my entire childhood.  I can’t eat sweets or chocolate on a regular basis at all, so they have to remain a “special occasions only” treat.

Sleep: I have already discussed this in symptoms, and while it sounds like I am not getting much sleep I do manage to get 7-8 hours even with all of the interruptions. The only real issue is by the time 6:00 pm rolls around my eyes are heavy and I am ready for bed. I think I may need to try and get up earlier and then take a nap during the afternoon to make the evenings more enjoyable.

Workouts: I have been looking at some of the recommended exercises for pregnancy and trying them. My energy is pretty low but I am still doing yoga and lunges and squats to try and make labor less painful.

Random: In EIGHT days we get the ultrasound to tell us what the gender of our baby is! I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am to know something more about Baby Red. Also I will love being able to use the same pronoun when referring to him/her. I still think baby is a boy, but I am not sure if that’s intuition or hoping the naming process wont be even harder!

Leave a Reply

