Dear Journal

(Side note: When I wrote the title of this blog I maybe started singing Brittney Spear’s song “Dear Diary” in my head. What?)

 

There are 2 missing from this picture. :)

There are 2 missing from this picture. :)

I have been an avid journal writer since I was 8 years old. Today, out of pure boredom, I started to look through my old journals. Now I know it sounds cliche to say I have wanted to be a mother my entire life, but honestly it’s what my day dreams consisted of even at the age of eight. My husband is already going crazy with the lists of baby names I have all over the house. (We thought we had the names chosen… not even close. It’s such a huge deal naming a child!) What he didn’t realize is I have pages in many journals filled with baby names. This obsession isn’t new, I just actually have a baby to name so it’s more real :) The very first list I could find was from a journal I wrote in when I was 9 years old. The names were:

Boys:

Benjamin

Daniel

Dawson

Austin

Landon

Girls:

Mackenzie

Riley

Dakota

Dasha

Cassidy

For some reason I just find this so funny. Interestingly enough, the name Benjamin is literally on every single name list I have ever made (including the current one) The rest of the names on the list…. well they are not on current lists. Dasha? Is that even a name? 8 year old me is very creative ;)

Any way, as I was reading my journals I got butterflies. My dream is literally coming true. Last week I got to feel my baby move for the first time and it was by far the most amazing thing I have ever felt. Right now I am preparing for my “career”. In 5 short months I will start the hardest, longest and most rewarding job I will ever have here on earth. I will be a mother. The thought literally makes me giddy.

Some day my children will get to read my journals, and the blog posts I have turned into books. I wish I had journals from my mom or my grandma, to see how they became the people they are today. My journals aren’t earth shattering , in all honesty I even got bored reading some entries, but seeing how far I have come is amazing. I feel so blessed to have been able to write about the people I have written about. To share the experiences I had in high school, college, New York, Africa and everything in between. I am glad I wrote about my broken hearts and my silly day dreams. It may not be a best selling novel but it’s my history and I love it.

So there you go. A random post about journals and baby names. Any baby name suggestions for me? Seriously I need all of the help I can get. I don’t know how we will ever decide on a name for this baby. We are almost half way to meeting  Baby Red with no concrete prospects. HELP! :)

 

One thought on “Dear Journal

  1. once you see your baby a name will come to you because he or she will look just like one of the names you both picked out for your baby. Don’t stress, it will all work out. Remember go on a date to the Cemetery and see what cool names lie there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

