A Broken Heart and Contrite Spirit

Yesterday in church we listened to a beautiful talk on the importance of having a Broken Heart and a Contrite Spirit. This is not a new concept for me, as it’s sprinkled throughout the scriptures, however, the speaker’s perspective got my wheels turning.

My heart has been broken many times. I am a “wear your heart on your sleeve” kind of girl and it’s been crushed through my short life so far. Break-ups, the passing of loved ones, and most recently with my parents divorce.  While this heartache does strengthen my desire to grip closer to my Father in Heaven’s love, I have realized this is not the “broken heart” the scriptures are referring too.

3 Nephi 9:20 says, “And ye shall offer for a sacrifice unto me a broken heart and contrite spirit. And whoso cometh unto me with a broken heart and a contrite spirit, him will I baptize with fire and with the HOly Ghost, even as the Lamanites, because of their faith in me at the time of their conversion, where baptized with fire and with the Holy Ghost, and they knew it not.”

When I read, “and ye shall offer,” I realized a broken heart is very much an action we preform, not a trial that happens to us. When we think of “house breaking” a family pet, we are literally breaking them of a habit so that they can comfortably reside within our home. Having a broken heart is simply breaking down the barrier of our heart and letting God in. It’s admitting we have human flaws, we make mistakes and we need  His mercy and love.

A contrite spirit is a little more straight forward. It’s having a spirit that is remorseful for the mistakes we make, the people we hurt, and the selfishness that finds it’s way into our lives. When it comes down to it, having a broken heart and contrite spirit is about obtaining a humble and giving way of life. Aligning our desires with the will of God. Christ is literally the epitome of these attributes. He gave his life to us, both while alive and in his death. His will was only that of his Father’s. I will forever be in awe of my Elder Brother for his sacrifice and strength, but most importantly of his life. His spirit of charity is something I pray to emulate, even in the small percentage I may be able to obtain while here on earth.

 

In other news, I am officially a Graduate School Widow. Garren started his first day of Physical Therapy School this morning. I am so lucky to be married to a man who works so hard and is determined to take care of me and our family. I won’t lie, after the past two weeks of being completely spoiled with his presence, I was more than a little sad to see him go. I am so excited for this new adventure and will do my best to enjoy every minute of it. This is a very big year for us! I even woke up at six this morning to make him breakfast, and maybe forced him to hold up this sign. He is a very good sport.

IMG_20130826_071938

Seriously can’t get enough of his cute face.

IMG_20130826_071551

Better shot of the sign

IMG_20130826_064446

One thought on “A Broken Heart and Contrite Spirit

Leave a Reply

