Kindness

I have been thinking a lot lately about the kind of person I am, and the kind of person I hope to be in the future.

Women, by nature, are catty. I hate that about us. I am the first to admit that I gossip and judge others. So I began thinking of ways to stop myself from doing this. My plan? Simply: Every time I see a person pass by me, wait on me, or even a patient I am registering at the hospital I will immediately compliment them in my head. I actually did this a few years back, and its amazing what you can open yourself up to if you’re constantly seeking out the good in people and situations. People around us are not perfect. Neither are we.

Too often I have had a conversation with one of my friends about a mutual friend. We sit and pick apart her life and her decisions all under the facade of “Being worried about her or wanting to help her.” That may be the case in some instances, but more than likely we are just trying to make ourselves, our choices, and our lives look better. If you are so willingly talking about others behind their back, chances are they are doing the exact same thing to you. Instead of constantly discussing others, or making snap judgements, look in the mirror. How can you better yourself? How can you become the type of woman that no one has a negative thing to say about? Remember judging others doesn’t determine the kind of person they are, it determines the kind of person YOU are. I know I wont change over night, I know I am still going to judge others and even be catty, but I am also going to make a conscious effort to be compassionate and loving to all of God’s children.

One day I hope this can be said about me :

Be the kind of woman that when your feet
hit the floor each morning the devil says
“Oh Crap, She’s up!”

Leave a Reply

